Patience

I’ve been in a very difficult family situation for the past year but during this time I have chosen to be patient and trust God. In doing that God has given me the strength to bare the hurt and pain, and to overcome the fear and anxiety. Also, God has shone light into the dark places of myself and brought about healing that I didn’t even know I needed. I’ve been surrounded by Godly people who have encouraged, affirmed, and supported me. It seems I’m finally beginning to emerge on the other side of this desert place a new and improved version of myself. God has taught me so much through this trial and I’m so grateful for God’s love and faithfulness.

A couple of weeks ago I was dealing with some disappointment mixed in with some hope. As I sat fiddling with my ukulele before heading out to set up the projector at the church plaza words came to me to describe how I was feeling. And as I think about how differently I would have handled this in the past I am thankful for the progress and healing that becomes apparent.

So here is the little song I wrote.

Patience
Sitting around don’t know what to do,
Just thinking about how much I miss you.
Can’t wait for the days when I see you again,
When will all of this craziness end?
Remember building a treehouse out in the back,
Going to church don’t forget to bring snacks,
Singing along as I play my guitar,
Riding our bikes, yeah we rode so far.
Everyday I wait for you.
Everyday say a prayer for you.
God give me the strength to make it through the night,
And guide my feet with Your loving light.
Your smile reminds me of God’s true love,
Even when life puts on boxing gloves.
I’m thankful that even in sadness and pain,
I’m given the patience to wait out the rain.

Patience – Written and performed by Jared Chei

One thought on “Patience

Leave a comment