An Apology

I’ve never thought of myself as a selfish person. I mean, sure sometimes I keep chocolates hidden from the kids or veto their movie requests cause I don’t want to watch Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse for a the hundredth time. But generally speaking I thought that I usually put others before myself. Well, I was kind of surprised when I found myself passing off my responsibility at my job onto someone else.

You see, I had made a mistake (an honest one) but fixing it was going to make me stay about 30 extra minutes at work. I asked a coworker but when they weren’t willing I made them believe the boss wanted them to do it. In the end they had to stay and I was able to leave work on-time.

The next morning there were some bad feelings among my coworkers and the yard manager called a meeting to address the situation. I felt convicted and knew that I had to apologize and make things right. It’s very humbling to admit your mistakes and I realized that where I had gone wrong was thinking my things were more important than his. I also jeopardized my relationship with him. Through apologizing I found out that my coworker also had something important to do after work and his niece was left waiting for him for 30 minutes.

I wonder how many times I’ve justified my selfish actions by telling myself it’s more important or more urgent. If anything, I should have faith that God is in control of my situation and by following God’s commands to love God and love others, everything will work out. I hope that in the future I will always take responsibility for my actions.

I’m thankful for this opportunity to grow and learn from my mistakes.

One thought on “An Apology

Leave a comment